Mayfull Comes to an End.

2 June, 2011 § Leave a comment

Sunday:

I see a man in khakis and high cheekbones sitting underneath the shade of a tall oak tree. I go up to him, stick out my hand and introduce myself with, “Hi, I’m Kate. Who are you?” 2 hours later, I’ve learned that this “homeless Hispanic man” is a father of three boys; he was a professional baseball player in Cuba for over 10 years; and he still loves water despite living on a raft for 6 days and watching 2 of his closest friends die during their crossing into the US. His name is Samuel and he teaches me courage.

Wednesday:

Gravelly voiced, she’s turning 83 years old on July 11. It took almost 4 months of me walking by her front yard and waving every time I saw her watering her plants before she opened the gate. Now, another 5 months have passed and we rock slowly on her front porch as she shares some of her stories with me: growing up in the cotton fields of Alabama, never learning how to read or write, taking care of her dying husband by herself. Miss Sadie with her crown of silver fuzz calls me baby, kisses me on the cheek and teaches me strength.

Friday:

Walking down the bike path across from our house, I smile at three tousle-headed, somber-faced strangers — and almost before I’m aware, hear myself inviting an exhausted mamita with two small children to share a glass of ice water and a freshly baked muffin with me. They sit, backs straight, until my broken Spanish makes them burst out into giggles. Now they collapse in a shaking pile on my sofa. 4-year old Raoul crosses his eyes at me while 7-year old Christiana draws me a meow-cat, and they teach me hope.

To read the rest of my May newsletter, follow this link:

Kate Goes to the City: May Edition.

 

This day be within and without me,
lowly and meek, yet all-powerful.
Be in the heart of each to whom I speak;
in the mouth of each who speaks unto me.
This day be within and without me,
lowly and meek, yet all-powerful.
— Canticle Prayer

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mayfull Comes to an End. at Litany for the Journey:.

meta

