Soul Food (And I’m Not Talking about Crawfish).

12 April, 2011 § Leave a comment

Today I spent my Sabbath at the ocean front (thanks to the generosity of a friend from church who freely gave up her day off, her big blue vehicle and her time to tote us to Galveston and back) and it – was – good. So good. While there are many things that I love about living in the middle of our country’s fourth largest, continually bustling, always diverse, never-the-same-two-days-in-a-row city, I also find myself craving a silence and peace that only comes from places located outside of these concrete streets. So, to the ocean we went; and it was a soulful rest that I gratefully received there.

I can think of few things more joy-giving, exhilarating or calming than a day with two dear friends spent frolicking on the sand, in the waves, and across the salty boulders. Tasting my very first crawfish (plus fifteen)? An extra bonus.

I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting for their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.
— Wendell Berry

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Soul Food (And I’m Not Talking about Crawfish). at Litany for the Journey:.

meta

