And A Pinch of Yeast.

1 May, 2010 § Leave a comment

Isn’t the smell of yeasty bread one of the most distinctively delicious and instantaneously comforting scents our noses can pick up? I spent several hours this afternoon up to my elbows in flour as I kneaded flour, yeast, water, oil and salt together until an elastic dough formed underneath my fingers, and it only took about twenty minutes before my entire apartment was wreathed in a childhood-favorite aroma. The sprinkling of cinnamon and nutmeg, not to mention a faint dash of ground cloves, only further enhanced the warm flavors rising in the air along with the cloth-covered dough, and after leaving the oven to heat up, I walked away to wash my floury hands, sighing a happy sigh of baking contentment as I went. Saturday cinnamon rolls just might become a regular tradition around here…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And A Pinch of Yeast. at Litany for the Journey:.

meta

