Tallying Up for a Bit.

9 October, 2008 § 1 Comment

As of the past two weeks, I have:

– Put over 3,500 miles on Gracie, my trusty vehicle-of-choice during travel season

– Driven through Canada and Pennsylvania in order to present 23 high school visits, work at 13 college fairs, and meet with 4 youth pastors in the following states of:

– Michigan, Ohio, New Hampshire, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey and New York

– Been called “sweetie” by a ridiculously gregarious Japanese waiter with a sleeveful of card-tricks who bombarded our table while I was waiting with some other admission reps for our sushi to arrive

– Gotten lost in downtown, ghetto-fab areas of Boston, Massachusetts, and Paterson, New Jersey

Eaten Chinese, Italian, Indian, Japanese, Mexican, Turkish, and American food – – not to mention a bowl of New England Cham Chowder at a restaurant in New Jersey that has supposedly served their “chowdah” at the past 7 presidential inaugurations

– Browsed through over 7 different Borders Bookstores or Barnes & Noble’s for anywhere from fifteen minutes to three hours

– Stayed in 9 different hotels, including one where the window would not close, the shower was dripping orange mould, and the floor was covered in unknown white specks as well as one where I could lie horizontally or vertically on the king-sized bed and still have extra space, that had a full-sized oak desk, a roll-out office chair, a microwave, a fridge, a sofa, and a safe… o, and did I mention the full-size whirlpool hot-tub in the room?

– Became Facebook friends with admission counselors from 9 other colleges

– And checked email at 11 different Paneras across the Midwest and East Coast

(I won’t even tally how many people I’ve talked to during that time.
My lips feel numb just thinking of it).

So while I love life on the road, I am o-so-glad to be home in my little apartment for the next four days with the comforts of my own towels, my own shower, my own pillow, my own rounded coffee-mug, my own bookshelves, my own Iron and Wine cds, and my own smells surrounding me.

Next stop: my old stomping grounds in eastern Pa! Yes. I am stoked.

Justin and Ethan, are you guys still with us? Or are Ryan and I writing into empty cyberspace…?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Tallying Up for a Bit.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tallying Up for a Bit. at Litany for the Journey:.

meta

